Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Gain of .8 lbs - last 2 weeks

Well I didn't weigh or blog last Wednesday, because we were in Disney World!  We had such a great time and walked quite a bit.  We averaged about 6 miles per day according to my FitBit.  I ate, and enjoyed myself.  I find myself nowadays eating less, because I'm allowing myself to reach the satisfied level before getting full/stuffed.  I don't feel bad if I don't eat the whole meal.  Usually, I would tell myself, well you just spent "x" number of dollars on this meal, you might as well get your money's worth.  That saying is not worth it to me anymore.  I eat until I'm satisfied and that's the end of it.  So I gained a little over the last two weeks, not quite a lb though, only 0.8 and I am OKAY with that.  I had fun and now it's time to get back on track to my weight loss journey.  Still a little tired today, so not sure if I will make it to Zumba this morning.  We are also headed to Christmas Town at Busch Gardens later this afternoon, so more walking!!!  =)   Until next week my friends, have a safe and Happy Holidays no matter what you choose to celebrate this weekend.

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Loss of 4 lbs this week!

So this past week, I lost 4 lbs which put me at my 30 lb milestone (well 30.6 lbs lost so far).  I am uber excited! Of course, it tells me that I'm losing weight too fast and I should aim for no more than 2 lbs per week, but trust me, this girl is not starving herself!  I only ate out once this week, I had Chinese (my weakness); however, the Chinese restaurant is no longer on speed dial on my new phone.  I actually looked at the menu and decided how hungry I was before I ordered.  Although with Chinese, their meals are always for 2 or more people anyways, so you can't exactly order individual portions.  I only had one serving and threw the rest out, because no one else was here to eat with me.  I only had one regular soda this week and split it up between two days, the rest of the days I drank water and a diet soda here and there.  I needed some caffeine!  I exercised at Zumba only two days this past week.  Last Wed and last night.  On three other days though, I did a Power 90 dvd and a walking/tonining dvd since I couldn't get to the gym for some other reason.  I'm really proud of myself this week and I only hope to see the scale continuing to go down for the long haul!  :)

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Loss of 5.4 lbs - BIG WEEK!

Hey everyone,

This week was a huge week for me!  I lost 5.4 lbs.  I ate within my Weight Watchers points all week and indulged in a few of my extra weekly points.  I earned 18 points of activity, but didn't have to use them.  I exercised 3 times this past week, 2 times at Zumba and 1 time just walking around Mount Trashmore for 45 minutes.  So I did add something different, but I didn't over work it this week and wow just look at the results.  It's probably been over 3 years since I've lost that much in one week.  I know this won't happen every week that's for sure, but I will celebrate it anyways!  On cloud 9!!!  =)

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Loss of 2.6 lbs this week! I need some insight health gurus!!!

Okay, I'm not sure what's going on honestly!  lol  I haven't stepped foot in the gym in 2 weeks, but yet I'm still losing weight.  I spent that entire YEAR in the gym multiple times a week, and didn't lose the weight that I wanted.  I now wonder if I was exercising too much or if it had something to do with not drinking enough water to replenish the water I was losing sweating it out to all that Zumba.  It really frustrates me.  I didn't eat incredibly great this week, but I still did pretty good.  I only ate out twice, McDonald's and Chinese.  I didn't get my normal meal at Chinese either, I cut back a great deal and didn't even finish it.  I also spread it out to two meals yesterday.  Yes, yesterday, I consumed a great deal of sodium - yet the scale still went down dramatically.  Crazy, huh?!?!  ;)

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Loss of 0.6!

Hey everyone,

I lost 0.6 lbs this past week, which actually surprises me since I had a 4 day weekend getaway with loads of eating out, but there wasn't much snacking involved, so I wonder if that had anything to do with it.  I was supposed to put a sign in my car that said "Think About It" last week, but I never did it, but I am going to make it and put it on my dashboard today!  It is supposed to stop me from just grabbing fast food while I'm out...and I wonder where my son gets his lack of impulse control from, hmm...  =)

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Loss of 2.2 lbs this past week!

So I went to log in my weight on Weight Watchers and this was the message I got (well after the Congratulations of course):

Please note:You’re probably excited to be losing weight, but you’re losing faster than is recommended. Although it’s normal to lose over 2 lbs in one week, if you lose more than an average of 2 lbs per week over a 4-week period, this could pose health risks, such as heart irregularities, anemia or loss of muscle mass. Please slow your weight loss; your doctor can help you do this if you’re not sure how.

LOL - trust me, I have so much weight to lose, that if I do everything right, I'm going to lose fast in the beginning.  I am sure I will plateau in good time, but I'm going to enjoy it while it lasts right now!

Hubby flies in late tomorrow night and we are headed up to Williamsburg for the weekend on Friday.  I know I am going to be tempted w/ lots of fast food and restaurants, especially since Shawn has been in Iraq for a year - he has some cravings!  lol  I might just share my plate w/ Heidi.  I'll still get to enjoy the food, but won't be tempted to eat all of it.  And it saves some money!  See you all next week, hopefully with another loss.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Loss of .4 - and I know why!

Seriously, I went back to my old eating habits after I had that SUPER week and I'm lucky I didn't gain back the 4 lbs I lost last week.  I still managed to "lose," but only .4.  A new week, gotta do better!

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Week "Who Knows" - Loss of 4 lbs

So yeah, completely neglected this blog and for good reason, I was feeling blah - still feeling blah, but whatever, life must go on.  My last post was 9/20, so over a month ago.  I went up and down on the scale in those four weeks.  Last week though, I actually ate on plan, stayed within my WW points and felt great.  Hence the giant loss.  Now sorta feeling blah again!  Hopefully I can keep going.  If I can do it for a week, I can do it for multiple weeks!  I hate that this journey is so MENTAL.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Week 7 (Loss of 2.6 lbs)

So I'm a day late and the reasoning is, it's football season!  So I had to change my weigh in day to Tuesdays, you know just in case I go overboard w/ spinach dip, pizza, etc. on Sundays.  Anywho, I also joined Weight Watchers again this past week, but I'm just doing the online version.  And...I lost 2.6 lbs this week.  So at least I am back to the negatives and probably the only time in my life where the word "negative" is something you want to hear!  I have had 2 personal training sessions and completed another Zumbathon last Saturday.  Until next week friends!

Monday, September 12, 2011

Week 6 (No Change)

Hey everyone,

There was absolutely no change in my weight this past week.  Kind of bummed, because I didn't snack as much and I still worked out every day.  I even added strength training in twice last week.  I also tried Turbo Kick on Saturday at OneLife, even though I thought I was taking Body Jam, but hey I stayed!  lol

I think it's time to join Weight Watchers again, but I'm going to do the online program v. going to meetings.  Obviously the caloric deficit I was trying to follow isn't quite working.  I must be choosing the wrong foods, even though my caloric intake is less than my calories burned.

Hoping for a better week and some weight loss next week!

Monday, September 5, 2011

Week 5 (gain of 3.6 lbs)

Happy Labor Day - and...this week sucked!  lol   I did not track my food like I was supposed to and I certainly did not drink enough water.  I didn't necessarily drink regular soda, but even diet soda isn't good for you when you drink 3 or 4 a day!  Water, water, water is my GOAL this week.  I didn't do terrible at exercising last week, went fairly often and still walked a lot at Busch Gardens and Water Country.  I also ate out at fast food more last week than the last 4 weeks too.  Kids start school tomorrow and I am going to the Commissary for a "relaxing" grocery trip, so I will be able to take my time and make smart choices.  Here's to a MUCH better week!  :)

Monday, August 29, 2011

Week 4 (Loss of 0.2 lbs)

So it wasn't a stellar week by any means, but a loss is a loss.  Woot!  With Heidi having surgery this past Monday, I haven't gotten much sleep, which I think makes you eat more (at least that is what I keep telling myself).  I did, however, make it to the gym on Tues, Wed, Thurs & Fri., because she was such a trooper.  Then the lovely Irene decided to keep me indoors for 1-2 days of more stress eating (stress of wondering if the lights were going to go out).  Oh and the gym was closed 2 days!  So bummed about that.  So this week's conclusion, I ate wayyyy too much and I was expecting a gain, but I will happily take the very small loss.  Hoping this week will be MUCH MUCH better!

Monday, August 22, 2011

Week 3 (Loss of 2.4 lbs - again)

Hey everyone!  Well this past week, I lost another 2.4 lbs.  A total of 7.4 lbs for 2 weeks.  Shook things up a bit by taking a spin class, a few step classes, Zumba and a strength sculpting dvd at home.  Ate fairly well with a few treats.  Some fudge from Water Country lingered in the house for most of last week and I ate dinner at Red Lobster w/ a couple of pieces of pizza last night.  I still need to cut back on some of those foods and add more fresh fruits and veggies to the mix.  According to my FitBit, I eat 51% of my calories at dinner time and it is telling me to aim for less than 30% of my calories at dinner time to lose weight, which means I need a bigger breakfast and lunch with a small dinner!  That is definitely a tough one!  This week is going to be exceptionally tough in the exercise dept.  My daughter Heidi is having surgery this morning to remove her tonsils and adenoids and depending on how well she recovers will determine my exercise routine this week.  I may not be able to make it to the gym, which  means extra determination on my part to get some dvd(s) in for cardio and strength this week as well as eating within my allotted calories.  Have a great week friends!  :)

Monday, August 15, 2011

Week 2 (Loss of 2.4 lbs!)

So to recap week 2 of my journey, I worked out in some sort of fashion EVERY DAY this past week (8/8 - 8/14).  5 days were spent doing an hour of Zumba (with 2 classes of Zumba last Tuesday).  2 days were spent walking around at Busch Gardens and swimming, walking and climbing stairs at Water Country USA.  I even had Chinese food last night and some fudge from Water Country (lol), but I ate way less than I normally do.  I am finding that I'm getting fuller on less food, and to stop and let my brain think before I choose to go for "seconds."  I am still trying to stick with fruits and veggies whenever I feel like snacking and add more protein, so I feel full longer in between meals.  I am tracking all of my food on my FitBit food tracker and it really keeps me accountable.  Every piece of food that goes into my mouth goes onto the tracker.  If any one has food tips or snack ideas, meal ideas, I am always open to suggestions!  Until next week my friends...

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Weight Loss Journey - Week 1

Welcome everyone to my very first blog!  Thanks for wanting to join me on my weight loss journey.  Encouragement is always needed!  While I know you all are my friends, I will be keeping my starting weight to myself.  I will tell you though that I need to lose over 100 lbs to be within my healthy weight range for my height. For now I am focusing on exercise and a caloric deficit "diet" to start this journey.  I will probably have to change things up when I hit a plateau, but for now this is what I'm going to work with.  The first week I lost 2.6 lbs.  I worked out at the gym 6 days out of 7 doing Zumba.  I definitely need to start adding in some strength training and switching up my cardio classes.  Though I love my Zumba!  :)  My weigh in day will be on Mondays and I will recap how the previous week went for me as I report my weight loss/gain/no change.  I will be HONEST.